Master cylinder change ?

S1000RR  FORUM

Help Support S1000RR FORUM:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Kylezx7r

Reaction score
Does anyone bother changing the brake master cylinders or are the OEM brembo M/C good enough.
i changed it on my R1 and it was the best mod I did pound for pound

OEM Master Cylinder

I've done countless trackdays on my BMW and have yet to find a reason to change the OEM master cylinder or front brake discs. I did however notice an improvement in braking performance and feel when I changed the fluid to Castrol React SRF Racing brake fluid and fitted a set of HP Race Brake Pads.

I changed to a brembo rcs19 (18/20). I like it. But I only changed cause my MBC was failing...

- Sent from Mobile

I have a Brembo RCS19 Master cylinder, I also have changed the disks for Brembo T-Drive and the calipers for the GP4-RX, I am using Motul RBF660 brake fluid as well.

Next thing to try are the Brembo Z04 pads (track use only) I will keep the SC pads for road use.

I changed the m/c first and I think it is a worthwhile upgrade. I would change the brake fluid first and see how you like it.

I'm finding the wear rate on SC pads too high. Although they stop well and are potentially gentle on the disc, having the same life as a rear tyre seems on the low side.

- Sent from Mobile

Cheers lads , yeah the fluiod i use is the EBC dot 5 and that in itself is a good change but i'll maybe have a look see if i can find a M/C for the right price somewhere.

Best prices for Brembo are from the Italian dealers on eBay, but now with the Pound/Euro exchange rate, it may be closer.

As always, you need to shop around.

Been racing for 3yrs and think that oe m/c is more than capable. My braking system is all original except for the z04 pads which although are 'kin expensive are great, and last really well....