Quick shifter not working

S1000RR  FORUM

Help Support S1000RR FORUM:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

powders

Reaction score
My quick shifter has stopped working
Also I can only select modes while stationary and in neutral
Does it sound like the micro switch at the clutch lever ?

I'm no expert, but I recently had quickshifter (typing that word quickly has some humorous outcomes) issues almost solved by taking the slack out of the clutch cable. Your issue sounds more intelligence based than a slack cable, so you might be on the right path with the microswitch.

According to the BMW technicians, the slightest pressure on the lever could activate the microswitch making the bike assume that you're going to perform a manual gear change, so I'd just ensure the lever is settling back into place when released and the contacts on the switch are being activated as they should.

The QS issue I'd say yes to the microswitch.

The modes bit is not something I have heard of before, weird. So if you press the mode button whilst moving and/or in gear does the display change but when you pull in the clutch it reverts to the pre-existing mode?

Say I'm in race mode and I press the mode button and go into slick
It underlines it but stays in race mode
I have to stop and stick it in neutral and then put it into slick and then it will stay in it

I'm having the same when moving...QS has been recoded so that isn't an issue.
Might be my non-std lever.

- Sent from Mobile

I have to stop and stick it in neutral and then put it into slick and then it will stay in it

Get some switch cleaner and give the switch a good spray, if you have just changed levers put the old one back on to check, you have to move a little bit of plastic that triggers the switch from the oem lever to some after market levers as well.

Also make sure the switch is not bent up.