Exhaust fitting for Noobs.. Danmoto Decat

S1000RR  FORUM

Help Support S1000RR FORUM:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

bigdave139

Reaction score
Just incase anyone is interested...

So i picked up a danmoto decat pipe and a 2010/11 exhaust system from Cornish last night (Nice guy, buy his bike Here)

Took it to work today and borrowed the tools, and someone who knew how to use them, to cut the cat of the old system, empty the cat material out of the bit i want and clean it all up for me.

Cat off, Danmoto on..

When i got home i got started on removing the old system off the bike, i'm far from an experienced mechanic, i can just about do an oil change, but i decided to give it a go, and THIS video was a great help if anyone else is thinking of doing this...

Before and after...

2 hours, a few swear words and one or two small injuries later the stock system is off, and the new system is test fit and looking good. Just waiting for new head studs and nuts and its time to make some noise! :D

Testfit done!
And the other side...

Hopefully the parts will be in tomorrow so should have it fitted by the evening. a mate is bringing a DB meter over to see just how loud it is! :cower:
Then off to Hilltop Saturday for ecu remap, just hoping the weather is kind to me!

Cheers
Dave

Just waiting for new head studs and nuts and its time to make some noise! :D

.... a LOT of noise lol!

Tested mine with the standard can and Danmoto decat pipe, measured 115dB! A bit better with a Danmoto GP can, and looks the bollocks too :)

Be interesting how the Akro can compares.

Hi MickyC
what distance / revs was that at? is it obnoxiously loud? (as in hurts your ears on the motorway?)

cheers
Dave

Hi Dave