Reinstalling rear wheel

S1000RR  FORUM

Help Support S1000RR FORUM:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

RickS1K

S1000RR Supporter
Reaction score
Total newbie question... I was forced into removing rear wheel after a puncture to take for new tyre. Now having bit of a nightmare getting wheel back in, something I've never done before. It's just about the choreography of managing all the parts that want to - and do - fall off...

The sprocket carrier doesn't sit firm in the wheel, so I try to put it back in, spacer falls out.. I fix that, spacer other side comes out. Repeat in random order...

I watched a few YT videos but they all manage it without going through the same issues.

Any tips? Got to get to its MOT on Friday...

Cheers

I feel your pain! You really do need 5 pairs of hands to do this. I have also sweated and sworn and previously demanded the head of the designer of the rear wheel installation/brake calliper of the bike be presented to me!

Actually, after my last service with Bahnstormers, they handed me back the approx 2mm thick spacer. Apparently, having previously installed a pair of LighTech Chain Adjusters and it would appear that I no longer needed the spacer as I had dispensed with the stock Chain Adjusters.

NOW THEY FLIPPIN TELL ME! Aaaagggghhh all that time I lost, the missing skin, the oaths uttered trying to get that Chuffing rear wheel back.....

I feel your pain! You really do need 5 pairs of hands to do this. I have also sweated and sworn and previously demanded the head of the designer of the rear wheel installation/brake calliper of the bike be presented to me!

Actually, after my last service with Bahnstormers, they handed me back the approx 2mm thick spacer. Apparently, having previously installed a pair of LighTech Chain Adjusters and it would appear that I no longer needed the spacer as I had dispensed with the stock Chain Adjusters.