Rear hugger 2015

S1000RR  FORUM

Help Support S1000RR FORUM:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

richy170

S1000RR Supporter
Reaction score
I am looking at replacing the OEM rear hugger. I have seen various designs . What is the reason, if any, that it has a piece cut out of the centre. Will a hugger without the centre hole be ok as this seems more sensible to keep the rear cleaner.

Well.... i am not a motorcycle expert, but i am a mechanical engineer, and i m not sure why it has a hole !, battery box clearance maybe, possibly from wind tunnel testing, i doubt just styling as it really defeats its purpose to a good degree.

I think i saw a rather good solution from another member on here with ally grill glued underneath, which i think a pretty good idea to be honest. Or prep it for acrylic paint of your choice ? ( nice cheap change )

Anyway over to anyone else who has anything else to offer....

Ride Safe.

I've been using a carbon rear hugger with the hole filled in since 2012 it's now on my 2015 and never had a problem and it keeps the shit of the back of the bike

As Mr Dave says......BMW dealer told me its for battery box clearance. I know loads of people have replaced with aftermarket huggers without the hole and no problems reported. I think you'd have to hit a serious pothole to be maxing out the suspension that far??

Exactly the same on the 2014-15 ABS Fireblade. Honda won't even fit a hugger for you....they say it is in danger of catching on the bottom of the ABS casing but again i doubt you'd have a problem ;-)

I am looking at replacing the OEM rear hugger. I have seen various designs . What is the reason, if any, that it has a piece cut out of the centre. Will a hugger without the centre hole be ok as this seems more sensible to keep the rear cleaner.