Are bmw taking the pi$$

S1000RR  FORUM

Help Support S1000RR FORUM:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

simon d

Reaction score
Are bmw taking the pi$$

Hi spoke to my local dealer on friday about potentially changing my 2012 for a hp4. They offered me £10100 for my bike but said it probably would be nearer £11000 if it wasnt a recall bike or words to that affect. I am just learning on the forum that pre reg bikes with the conrod problem like mine are being sold 4 £600 ish less. Is this fair or do you think bmw should be reimbursing all 2012 owners with this money difference ie £600. just thought i would try n gauge peoples thoughts on this.

Re: Are bmw taking the pi$$

hang on a mo, lets work this through;

They build a bike with a fault, subsequently acknowledge they were n the wrong and repair said fault free of charge (as they are legally obliged to) and then reclaim the cost of said repairs back from you in the form of a lower trade in price.

Interesting concept.

Answer to quiestion is a big fat YES !
Question to you Simon 1)why trade in for a HP4? As others have said I don't think it is special enough or will be built in limited numbers to hold its value any better than what you have got. 2) Are you finding that you have reached the limits of the S1000rr if so give up track days and go racing! 3) Why change for anither BM when I change I like something completly different not just a few whisltles and bells on what I had. 4) How much did you win on the lottery ;) All above comments should be taken in the lighthearted manner they were intended. ::)