Thinking of going racing

S1000RR  FORUM

Help Support S1000RR FORUM:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

soofsayer

Forum Admin
Reaction score
I have been thinking of starting racing bikes for a while, I have always been very competitive and find road riding dangerous if I go out with that mindset, hence getting on track. Realistically I think 2015 will be when I start as I need to get bike, van, trailer etc sorted. I am not a mechanic but am getting better :distrust:. I have done a few track days and had some tuition (in cars) at Silverstone and Mira.

I am after some advice.... Should I start in the lower cc classes? Should I go and get training? Which club/series to join? What to buy, what not to buy? What are race weekends like, would I take the family? Are the tracks filled with idiots who don't care if they come off? Insurance? Is it a money pit? I really am a newbie at this.

The first question you need to ask yourself is can you afford to race because even at club level its not going to be cheap, I used to race 250cc national gearbox karts and an average meeting is around £1000 long circuit! And that was in 2005 when I retired from it.

Hi chorsley. Good question and thanks for your post. Short answer is yes. I have given it some thought already. A meet is about £500 entrance for the weekend, excluding petrol, travel, accommodation, parts etc. so around £1k would be about right I guess. I have no idea about things like insurance at the moment.

That's without the capital investment of the bike(s), transport, paddock kit, transponder etc.

it ain't going to be cheap, but compared to playing with fast cars (my previous past time before kids) it's looking much cheaper and more fun!

Why not do regular trackdays to start?

+1-unless,of course,you are too quick for the fast group!