Potential new owner - coming from a Panigale

S1000RR  FORUM

Help Support S1000RR FORUM:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
K

kwack

Hi,

To cut a very long story short I am close to setting fire to my Panigale, the list of warranty work, breakdowns etc etc has just about done me in.

So I am on the lookout for something exciting, fast, has electronic gubbins and think this bike just might do it for me.

I have been riding for 18 years and have had following bikes

1) Kawasaki ZX6r
2) Fireblade 929rry
3) GSXR1000 k4
4) ZX10R - 05 model - top bike
5) KTM RC8r
6) Ducati Panigale

Now dont get me wrong the Panigale is a great bike when it works but my list of garage visits, complaining to Ducati etc is just not worth the hassle

I do around 6k miles per year so need a bike that is reliable, will start each time and wont crap its guts at 4k and need a new engine. A motorbike for me is a tool and is to be ridden not polished, polished and talking incessantly about CNC parts and creaming themselves over a latte about some new footpeg from Italy

Interested to hear from owners on reliability and what ownership is like

Also is there any guide on model changes etc

Cheers
Kwack

I think the S1000RR has its share of issues too but they seem to be limited to switchgear that packs up and sumps that corrode...and that's it. So overall no worse than any other big bike and a whole heap better than a lot.

I personally believe that the 2012+ model (mid-life minor facelift and other tweaks) is the one to get of the standard bike, but if I could have afforded a Panigale I'd have been going for an HP4, but in your case not the Carbon version, if you're going to stick a lot of miles on it.

Comfort is probably high on your list of requirements and since the last 2 bikes have been VTwins you might struggle with the current fireblade as it's so wide round the tank, but the S1000RR design is nicely narrowed like a 600.