Hello all - Potential new owner

S1000RR  FORUM

Help Support S1000RR FORUM:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

KKND83

Reaction score
Hello everyone, glad to be here. I would like to give a bit of background about my self as a rider and hopefully some of you could advice me and help make the decision.

I have been riding for 10 years, started with a Harley Davidson Dyna Wide Glide. I really like Harleys for what they were, however I was always curious to try something else. In 2014, I test rode a Ducati Monster 1200, I loved the medium size, the lightness, agility and rawness of the bike. I made it a target to be able to get one, two years later in 2016, I bought an almost new Monster 1200S in white and I didn't know what I was missing until I owned one. I am blessed to be able to own two bikes, but the Harley was sold and I bought a used Multistrada 1260S in 2020, for my two-up, long distances riding that I occasionally do. Both bikes are near and dear to my heart, as there is so little that they can't do.

I am turning 40 next year, and what is a better gift than a new bike! It so happens that a BMW dealership finally opened in my town. I always wanted a sport bike, for the sake of variety perhaps, or before its too late age-wise to be able to own and enjoy one. I was able to extensively use a Panigale 1299 that I co-owned with a friend and to be honest, it was horrible! thigh- burning, bum-numbing, wrist-torturing angry machine. I suspect that there was something wrong with it heat wise, as the rear plastic mud-guard melted and because it was a base model, suspensions wasn't set up right and no matter how much I fiddled with it based on factory-comfort settings, was still too rough! Sold it and no love lost there.