New member from Aberdeen

S1000RR  FORUM

Help Support S1000RR FORUM:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

idownie

Reaction score
I've just stumbled on this forum while Googling so jumped in. I don't know how I ended up with an S1000RR as I'm a longtime BMW rider (since 1988) and have never ridden a Japanese super bike, and never considered one. I graduated through K75S, K100RS, K1100RS, K1200S and K1300S - notice a trend?

I used to ride bikes all over Scotland in my job, being paid expenses to do so, but after my Yamaha XZ550S wore out in less than 25 000 miles (in 18 months) in 1988 I moved on to BMWs, which basically don't wear out. However now I am old, and retired, and don't have to ride in rain, hail, fog, ice and snow - so my mileage has dropped drastically. While the K1300S is a great bike, and the most powerful and best handling BMW I've had, it's still built for miles and A roads.

I had a test ride on the original S1000RR last year and, if the ride had lasted an hour, I'd have bought one. Unfortunately it lasted two hours and by the second hour my knees were hurting, so I decided I was too old for it. I did a bit of research and found that Attack Performance rear sets adjust down as well as up and my opinion started to change. Then I got a phone call asking if I was interested in one of the last old models which they were selling off at under £10K, but it was the day before I was due to go to Singapore to play hockey for my country (at Over 60 level, let it be said). I said I was interested and to phone me again after I got back if they had one left, but they didn't. By that time it was winter (what is it now???) and the moment passed.