Paint Protection

S1000RR  FORUM

Help Support S1000RR FORUM:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

CDPDesign

S1000RR Supporter
Reaction score
I've been dabbling for a couple of years with various paint protection products, and most recently have been quite taken with the GTechniq range.

I bought my first S1000RR last Feb (14 plate) and had this coated professionally as a favour.

I was quite impressed, but as it was a freebie, not all of the bike was coated.

I swapped this for a 15 plate, and coated it myself with GTechniq C1 & EXO V2. Cost was around ?80 for the product and about ?15 for the cleaner you apply before coating.

This year, I swapped the 15 for a 16 plate, and went to town on it.

I bought the professional only GTechniq Crystal Serum (?100 for 30ml!!!!!) and EXO V2 to apply. Was a bit nervous as the Crystal Serum dries that hard, if you get it wrong it has to be wet sanded to remove it. All in all in a bottle of each there's enough to do a bike and a car, or probably 3 bikes.

I've now coated all plastics inside and out. I had to take farings off to fit rad guard, so decided to thoroughly clean and coat all areas of the bike.

I've had both wheels out, discs off, tail pod removed, tank removed, etc... and cleaned, degreased and coated the whole bike (or at least as much as I can reach without dropping the engine and getting daft! I've even coated the inside of the swing arm whic hcleans up so easy now.

I am really pleased with the end result. grease from the chain doesn't stick, it just wipes off, wheels clean up much easier, flies and road crap just wipes off the fairings. Worst part I've found to keep clean in the past are the fork stanchions; these just wipe clean with a damp microfibre cloth now.