Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 21

Thread: Hotbodies undertray

  1. #11
    Standard Member Mick753's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2015
    Location
    East Lothian
    Riding
    2014 S1000R
    Posts
    346
    Thanked: 92

    Re: Hotbodies undertray

    Have you fitted LED indicators to the front too?

  2. #12
    1 YEAR PREMIER MEMBER The_maz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2016
    Posts
    160
    Thanked: 20
    Quote Originally Posted by Mick753 View Post
    Have you fitted LED indicators to the front too?
    No Mick, just standard ones on the front.

  3. #13
    Forum Vendor Stephen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2016
    Location
    West Yorkshire
    Riding
    2015 S1000RR Black
    Posts
    774
    Thanked: 341

    Re: Hotbodies undertray

    I've had a look, there isn't an option on our machine, it could be a dealer only thing..

    Are you getting a warning on the dash or is it just the flash rate at fault? It would make sense to put led's on the front to match the rear..

  4. #14
    1 YEAR PREMIER MEMBER The_maz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2016
    Posts
    160
    Thanked: 20
    Quote Originally Posted by Stephen View Post
    I've had a look, there isn't an option on our machine, it could be a dealer only thing.. Are you getting a warning on the dash or is it just the flash rate at fault? It would make sense to put led's on the front to match the rear..
    Thanks for checking Stephen. Yeah I'll put them on in time. If both are LED, would that sort it?

  5. #15
    1 YEAR PREMIER MEMBER The_maz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2016
    Posts
    160
    Thanked: 20
    Just checked, the clock does say 'LAMP' on it. The hazard lights work fine also, flashing at normal speed.

  6. #16
    Forum Vendor Stephen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2016
    Location
    West Yorkshire
    Riding
    2015 S1000RR Black
    Posts
    774
    Thanked: 341

    Re: Hotbodies undertray

    I think, please don't quote me on this, but I think if there all led it shouldn't show an error as they'll be equal resistance? You could test the theory by plugging one of your rears in the front so one side is led?

  7. #17
    1 YEAR PREMIER MEMBER The_maz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2016
    Posts
    160
    Thanked: 20
    Quote Originally Posted by Stephen View Post
    I think, please don't quote me on this, but I think if there all led it shouldn't show an error as they'll be equal resistance? You could test the theory by plugging one of your rears in the front so one side is led?
    That's a good shout Stephen. I'll give that a go and see if it works. I'm clueless with electrics so don't understand how hazard lights run at normal speed?

  8. #18
    Standard Member Sissymc7's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2015
    Posts
    265
    Thanked: 41

    Re: Hotbodies undertray

    Nice one hope it's good as look well

  9. #19
    Standard Member Mick753's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2015
    Location
    East Lothian
    Riding
    2014 S1000R
    Posts
    346
    Thanked: 92

    Re: Hotbodies undertray

    Quote Originally Posted by Stephen View Post
    I think, please don't quote me on this, but I think if there all led it shouldn't show an error as they'll be equal resistance? You could test the theory by plugging one of your rears in the front so one side is led?
    To be honest it all depends on the LED's, by fitting LED's on the rear and standard bulbs on the front then it is highly likely that it will throw up a LAMP error on the indicators but with the BMW you can't guarantee that, most bikes when switching from bulbs to LED's generally need a resistor fitting to each indicator but I found that the Motodynamics ones that I have only need them fitted to the front ones, when i had them fitted to all none of them worked, with them fitted to the rear only then it caused errors too yet fitted to the front they are fine, I also didn't need to take my bike to BMW to get it programmed for LED indicators and yet some people even with resistors fitted have had to pay around 30 to get it done.

    I think what it comes down to is the LED's themselves and how much power they draw, as I say the tolerances on the CANBUS before it throws a wobbler seem to be very low on the BMW in comparison to some of the marques.

    A bit of trial and error with the resistors may help

  10. #20
    1 YEAR PREMIER MEMBER The_maz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2016
    Posts
    160
    Thanked: 20
    Quote Originally Posted by Mick753 View Post
    To be honest it all depends on the LED's, by fitting LED's on the rear and standard bulbs on the front then it is highly likely that it will throw up a LAMP error on the indicators but with the BMW you can't guarantee that, most bikes when switching from bulbs to LED's generally need a resistor fitting to each indicator but I found that the Motodynamics ones that I have only need them fitted to the front ones, when i had them fitted to all none of them worked, with them fitted to the rear only then it caused errors too yet fitted to the front they are fine, I also didn't need to take my bike to BMW to get it programmed for LED indicators and yet some people even with resistors fitted have had to pay around 30 to get it done. I think what it comes down to is the LED's themselves and how much power they draw, as I say the tolerances on the CANBUS before it throws a wobbler seem to be very low on the BMW in comparison to some of the marques. A bit of trial and error with the resistors may help
    I'll ring up BMW in the morning and ask the question. If that fails I'll chuck a set on the front and see what happens then. Hopefully BMW can sort it, really can't be arsed taking anymore fairings off for a while.
    Thanks Mick

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •