Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
Results 21 to 30 of 38

Thread: installing a Powercommander and autotune

  1. #21
    Standard Member Boardsofnorfolk's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Norfolk
    Riding
    2011 Motor Sport Carbon Edition HP
    Posts
    767
    Thanked: 0

    Re: installing a Powercommander and autotune

    Quote Originally Posted by andybarsblade link=topic=466.msg8705#msg8705 date=1339274804
    x group hug?
    Awwwwwwwwwwwwwww lol well if we ever have a ride out,I'll buy you a shandy lol ride safe!

  2. #22
    Standard Member Fat Tony's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Location
    Manchester
    Posts
    7
    Thanked: 0

    Re: installing a Powercommander and autotune

    Quote Originally Posted by babarr46 link=topic=466.msg8635#msg8635 date=1339183813
    You guys who have fitted one of these the vid doesn't show tapping the gear position sensor,
    gonna give it a go tomorrow will follow the instructions in the box....whats the worst that can happen?
    Yep, new versions have a blue/white wire in the same place as the grey wire - with absolutley no instruction as to what the **** it is.

    It's a gear position indicator which feeds back to the PC V box - which allows you a different map for each grear.

    Had me stumped - thought I had the wrong unit for a while

    You don't need to connect it though

  3. #23
    Standard Member Stevew26's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2017
    Posts
    55
    Thanked: 7

    Re: installing a Powercommander and autotune

    Hi all. I've been reading all the posts with interest. I have removed the de-cat also ( as someone said, to let her breath ) it sounds so much more like a bike should. I thought or was advised that I need a power commander as my tick over can sometimes run a little fast. I don't really fancy paying out 450 for this , is there any other ways to slow the tick over down.

  4. #24
    Forum Moderator alex's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Location
    London and Norfolk
    Riding
    2017 S1000RR Grey
    Posts
    6,954
    Thanked: 2136

    Re: installing a Powercommander and autotune

    If it hunts on idle that's the nature of the beast. Only way to reduce that is to get it mapped.

  5. #25
    Standard Member Stevew26's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2017
    Posts
    55
    Thanked: 7

    Re: installing a Powercommander and autotune

    Showing my ignorance here. Does it need a power commander to be mapped.

  6. #26
    Forum Moderator RyS1000RR's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2015
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    3,336
    Thanked: 1243

    Power Commander

    Quote Originally Posted by Stevew26 View Post
    Showing my ignorance here. Does it need a power commander to be mapped.
    Yes.

  7. #27
    Standard Member Stevew26's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2017
    Posts
    55
    Thanked: 7

    Re: installing a Powercommander and autotune

    Might make do with running fast for now. Lol


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

  8. #28
    2 YEAR PREMIER MEMBER Felix's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2016
    Location
    UK
    Riding
    '15 S1000RR
    Posts
    852
    Thanked: 234

    Re: installing a Powercommander and autotune

    My de-cat severally affected the performance of my bike, It had no map, It was 179bhp @ the rear wheel which isnt great for a '15 model.

  9. #29
    Standard Member Stevew26's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2017
    Posts
    55
    Thanked: 7

    Re: installing a Powercommander and autotune

    What , after you removed it. ???


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

  10. #30
    2 YEAR PREMIER MEMBER Felix's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2016
    Location
    UK
    Riding
    '15 S1000RR
    Posts
    852
    Thanked: 234

    Re: installing a Powercommander and autotune

    Had a stock system, Went and bought an Austin Racing de-cat system, Put on bike and had it dyno'd @ 179bhp. Changed the exhaust and a few other bits along with a power commander, I got 193bhp.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •