Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 38

Thread: installing a Powercommander and autotune

  1. #11
    Standard Member babarr46's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    worthing westsussex
    Posts
    317
    Thanked: 0

    Re: installing a Powercommander and autotune

    Quote Originally Posted by Boardsofnorfolk link=topic=466.msg8688#msg8688 date=1339272259
    I never understand why you would need this unless you were on the track,Iam sure this bike stock is capable of time travel!
    More noise! That's why.
    Yep there was a second connection for the gear position sensor so can be mapped for each gear!

    Was a doddle to fit, wish I could say the same about the exhaust! Removing the stock one is a complete pig!! Piece of piss to fit the akra system! :P
    i accidentally swallowed some scrabble tiles my next shit could spell disaster.

  2. #12
    Standard Member Boardsofnorfolk's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Norfolk
    Riding
    2011 Motor Sport Carbon Edition HP
    Posts
    767
    Thanked: 0

    Re: installing a Powercommander and autotune

    Quote Originally Posted by andybarsblade link=topic=466.msg8690#msg8690 date=1339272715
    You dont understand why you need to have the engine fueled correctly?

    Better spending 300 quid on this than 500 sheets on an end can that does feck all lol
    Of course,but really tell how much of an advantage? I got the Akrapovic on mine because it looked better than standard. So your saying BMW have set the fuelling up wrong and getting this makes the world of difference? Still don't see the point,if you have this for the road,your wasting your money,I'd rather buy parts on my bike so people can see and admire them,not waste time putting a power commander on.

  3. #13
    Standard Member Boardsofnorfolk's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Norfolk
    Riding
    2011 Motor Sport Carbon Edition HP
    Posts
    767
    Thanked: 0

    Re: installing a Powercommander and autotune

    Quote Originally Posted by babarr46 link=topic=466.msg8691#msg8691 date=1339273085
    Quote Originally Posted by Boardsofnorfolk link=topic=466.msg8688#msg8688 date=1339272259
    I never understand why you would need this unless you were on the track,Iam sure this bike stock is capable of time travel!
    More noise! That's why.
    Yep there was a second connection for the gear position sensor so can be mapped for each gear!

    Was a doddle to fit, wish I could say the same about the exhaust! Removing the stock one is a complete pig!! Piece of piss to fit the akra system! :P
    More noise,oh dear,so you don't think the s1k sounds nice standard? Still a waste in my view,and again unless there are advantages on the track,for which I'm sure there are,spending your money on it for street riding is a waste. If you want it louder just remove your CAT.

  4. #14
    Standard Member babarr46's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    worthing westsussex
    Posts
    317
    Thanked: 0

    Re: installing a Powercommander and autotune

    BMW made a monster of a bike & mr EU made him strangle it to meet noise & emission standards, I say F the EU let my bike breathe and fuel as BMW intended & bring the NOISE!
    i accidentally swallowed some scrabble tiles my next shit could spell disaster.

  5. #15
    Standard Member Boardsofnorfolk's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Norfolk
    Riding
    2011 Motor Sport Carbon Edition HP
    Posts
    767
    Thanked: 0

    Re: installing a Powercommander and autotune

    Quote Originally Posted by babarr46 link=topic=466.msg8696#msg8696 date=1339273516
    BMW made a monster of a bike & mr EU made him strangle it to meet noise & emission standards, I say F the EU let my bike breathe and fuel as BMW intended & bring the NOISE!
    Lol,ok I hear ya,I hold my hands up he he. I find when screaming over my engine noise give similar results anyway ;D

  6. #16
    Standard Member andybarsblade's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    derby
    Posts
    520
    Thanked: 2

    Re: installing a Powercommander and autotune

    Quote Originally Posted by Boardsofnorfolk link=topic=466.msg8692#msg8692 date=1339273103
    Quote Originally Posted by andybarsblade link=topic=466.msg8690#msg8690 date=1339272715
    You dont understand why you need to have the engine fueled correctly?

    Better spending 300 quid on this than 500 sheets on an end can that does feck all lol
    Of course,but really tell how much of an advantage? I got the Akrapovic on mine because it looked better than standard. So your saying BMW have set the fuelling up wrong and getting this makes the world of difference? Still don't see the point,if you have this for the road,your wasting your money,I'd rather buy parts on my bike so people can see and admire them,not waste time putting a power commander on.
    But my bike isnt standard it has a full system so no cat and a race air filter so it needs to be remapped to compensate. Im not wasting my money i buy parts to make my bike lighter - faster and handle better. In my opinion you're wasting your money buying parts for looks to pose down the pub.

  7. #17
    Standard Member Boardsofnorfolk's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Norfolk
    Riding
    2011 Motor Sport Carbon Edition HP
    Posts
    767
    Thanked: 0

    Re: installing a Powercommander and autotune

    Quote Originally Posted by andybarsblade link=topic=466.msg8700#msg8700 date=1339273766
    Quote Originally Posted by Boardsofnorfolk link=topic=466.msg8692#msg8692 date=1339273103
    Quote Originally Posted by andybarsblade link=topic=466.msg8690#msg8690 date=1339272715
    You dont understand why you need to have the engine fueled correctly?

    Better spending 300 quid on this than 500 sheets on an end can that does feck all lol
    Of course,but really tell how much of an advantage? I got the Akrapovic on mine because it looked better than standard. So your saying BMW have set the fuelling up wrong and getting this makes the world of difference? Still don't see the point,if you have this for the road,your wasting your money,I'd rather buy parts on my bike so people can see and admire them,not waste time putting a power commander on.
    But my bike isnt standard it has a full system so no cat and a race air filter so it needs to be remapped to compensate. Im not wasting my money i buy parts to make my bike lighter - faster and handle better. In my opinion you're wasting you're money buying parts for looks to pose down the pub.
    Sorry I didn't say yours was standard did I?
    Ok lighter and faster for the street? Then I could say your bragging,look at me I've got this on my bike,hey it's got 10 bhp more than standard,sorry I'll take my posing down the pub,but mind you I dont pose don't the pub,I'm more your local skate park kinda guy,even Tescos if I'm feeling brave. But hey,I wasn't being funny,it's just an opinion.

  8. #18
    Standard Member andybarsblade's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    derby
    Posts
    520
    Thanked: 2

    Re: installing a Powercommander and autotune

    Quote Originally Posted by Boardsofnorfolk link=topic=466.msg8692#msg8692 date=1339273103
    So your saying BMW have set the fuelling up wrong and getting this makes the world of difference?
    Sorry dont take what im saying wrong, I didnt say this makes the world of difference I posted a video up that helps people fit a power commander.

    Quote Originally Posted by Boardsofnorfolk link=topic=466.msg8692#msg8692 date=1339273103
    Sorry I didn't say yours was standard did I?
    No but ......
    Quote Originally Posted by Boardsofnorfolk link=topic=466.msg8692#msg8692 date=1339273103
    So your saying BMW have set the fuelling up wrong
    I didnt say they set the fuelling up wrong i said that as i have modified my bike i have set the fuelling to compensate. On a S1000RR with the cat still fitted i would agree this is a waste of money.

  9. #19
    Standard Member Boardsofnorfolk's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Norfolk
    Riding
    2011 Motor Sport Carbon Edition HP
    Posts
    767
    Thanked: 0

    Re: installing a Powercommander and autotune

    Quote Originally Posted by andybarsblade link=topic=466.msg8703#msg8703 date=1339274338
    Quote Originally Posted by Boardsofnorfolk link=topic=466.msg8692#msg8692 date=1339273103
    So your saying BMW have set the fuelling up wrong and getting this makes the world of difference?
    Sorry dont take what im saying wrong, I didnt say this makes the world of difference I posted a video up that helps people fit a power commander.
    Not at all mate,but I'm shit scared on mine and it's standard lol and if it helps someone,then all good,put it this way,if I did get one,then this video would help. There,all good now fist bump he he.

  10. #20
    Standard Member andybarsblade's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    derby
    Posts
    520
    Thanked: 2

    Re: installing a Powercommander and autotune

    x group hug?

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •