Holy Huggers Batman!

S1000RR  FORUM

Help Support S1000RR FORUM:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Katie

S1000RR Supporter
Reaction score
Or, more specifically, does the hole in the hugger (Gen3) serve any purpose other than to let all the shite through onto the suspension? :mad:

I finally gave in and took the bike out in the rain as I realised I had no idea how it would behave, especially as I've never used the Power 5s before. As it was, bike and tyres were impeccable, despite torrential rain, and the the Slipscreens TT screen gave brilliant level of cover. Looking the bike over in the dry, I can see most of the dirt is around the underseat and hugger but the amount that goes through the hole in the hugger is ridiculous!

So, before splashing out (sorry, couldn't help it), just checking that a fully covered hugger isn't going to cause any weird kind of issue? :suspicion:

I?ve seen some that put a fine mesh underneath to stop all that crud from flinging up.

I did buy some from a local iron monger but not yet put it on...

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

The hole in the hugger is designed to be there should the rear compress to a point whereby the abs unit housing needs clearance. Years ago I spoke to a ilmberger distributor about this and they had tried racheting down the rear of a bike to try and force contact without success, so in reality it will never happen. I have always fitted non-abs rear huggers (no hole) to my s1krs without issue.

The hole in the hugger is designed to be there should the rear compress to a point whereby the abs unit housing needs clearance. Years ago I spoke to a ilmberger distributor about this and they had tried racheting down the rear of a bike to try and force contact without success, so in reality it will never happen. I have always fitted non-abs rear huggers (no hole) to my s1krs without issue.