Hello from Southampton. On the hunt for an HP4

S1000RR  FORUM

Help Support S1000RR FORUM:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

MirrorJohn

Reaction score
Hi Guys and Girls. Hope everyone is ok. I'm John and live on the edge of Southampton near the New Forest.

I have been riding a highly modified 2006 Honda CBR600RR for 10 years and it's time for a change! My misses has just passed her bike test and has bought a 2017 Triumph 765 Street Triple R. After having a go on it, I realise I need more torque in my life! It's definitely time to move up to a 1000CC.

I've kind of got my heart set on an HP4. I went and test rode an early 2012 HP4 (number 1428) at North Oxford Bmw. It rode well and confirmed that I do want an HP4. However, I was really disappointed after the test ride when I looked through all the paper work. I found the bike had been imported from the States in 2012. No mention of this in the advert, over the phone or even when I got there. It was only when I found the import document at the back of the paperwork and challenged them and they admitted it! Felt a bit cheated to be honest. I know it's the same bike as a UK one (although weirdly it is missing most the stickers), but I would have to declare it to my insurance company as imported and annoyingly if you do a number plate check it comes up as an S1000RR; so I guess it wasn't quite registered right when it landed in the UK. Being imported will affect resale value too if I ever want to sell on. Plus bike has only had 2 services over 10000 miles. Not what I was expecting out of a BMW dealer to be honest! They gave me the attitude of they couldn't care less. After promising a call back with a part exchange quote, I never heard back from them again. Bike is still for sale, but they don't seem to want to sell it. Obviously don't need the business.