Removing restrictions

S1000RR  FORUM

Help Support S1000RR FORUM:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Ukbmw

Reaction score
I would like to know how best to tune my gen3.
Its just got the optional akrapovic from bmw otherwise its standard.
Im new to bmw scene so i got alot of learning to do!
Firstly i do the occasional trackday so if i definately need a full system it must pass noise tests.
Secondly do i need power commander as well as an ecu reflash or can the fueling be set in the ecu?
What are the restrictions on the bike?
Im presuming intake flap. Exhaust flap. Cat in exhaust. Top speed limiter??
The bikes definately got a flat spot in the midrange of the power curve

Exhausts
As you already have the official slip-on, I would get the optional Akrapovic headers. MHP exhausts can extend the Akrapovic baffle should you require a quieter setup for track-days.

Tuning
If you have a 15/16 model year Gen 3 then you can use any of the leading fuel modules. If you have a 17/18 model year Gen 3 then your best option is a RapidBike Race module, as to-date this is the only product that is fully compatible with the Euro4 generation bikes.
I personally would not consider ECU flashing if your bike is in warranty. Even when you?re out of warranty, from a fuelling perspective nothing beats live custom mapping on a dyno.

Mods
IMO if you do install a full system, I would recommend removing the servo motors and the secondary air system. The former can be completely removed via 2x Servo Buddies, the latter requires block off plates from the likes of Alpha Racing et al.

The flat spot is due to lean fuelling as a result of emissions restrictions.
The speedo tops out at 186 mph. But the actual top speed is entirely due to gearing, so there?s no need to worry about 6th gear RPM limits

- Oli

Last edited: