Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 30

Thread: Removing DDC?

  1. #11
    2 YEAR PREMIER MEMBER DeeboSTI's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2016
    Posts
    70
    Thanked: 16

    Re: Removing DDC?

    Will annoy the SH!T out of me.

  2. #12
    Forum Moderator RyS1000RR's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2015
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    3,312
    Thanked: 1218

  3. #13
    Forum Moderator RyS1000RR's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2015
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    3,312
    Thanked: 1218

    Race Calibration Kit & DDC Removal

    Quote Originally Posted by scooby View Post
    why must it be before? the reason i know you cant use the gs911 unit is because i've tried with my previous 2 gen3 bikes that ran electronic suspension but theres no option to do it,and now with my latest one i have the RCK3 unit and sotfware,and i've just done it,running aftermarket suspension without the DDC light.it's given as an option in the software of the RCK.
    On a standard bike the DDC has to be ‘removed’ electronically by a BMW dealership first before the fork internals and rear shock are physically unplugged. The ECU is coded in such a way that it has to be done in that order. If not you get the rather irritating warning light and flashing error code. When the bike is flashed by BMW to accept the RCK3 the ECU is reprogrammed / race enabled and you can just use the software and cable to configure the bike yourself. That includes being able to disable the DDC as it’s assumed by BMW that if your using an RCK you will be fitting race suspension so they give you the option.

  4. #14
    Standard Member scooby's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Posts
    128
    Thanked: 24

    Re: Removing DDC?

    ok,makes sense.

  5. #15
    Forum Moderator alex's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Location
    London and Norfolk
    Riding
    2017 S1000RR Grey
    Posts
    6,831
    Thanked: 2076

    Re: Removing DDC?

    If the suspension is swapped, then you go to BMW with the bike and the DDC units, if you 'plug them in' is it possible to remove the error?

    Also, just to clarify, you don't have to RCK right?

    - Alex

  6. #16
    Forum Moderator RyS1000RR's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2015
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    3,312
    Thanked: 1218

    DDC Removal

    As far as I'm aware as long as the DDC suspension units are physically plugged into the bike it can be 'removed / disabled' by BMW. It is simply a box that needs unchecking on the BMW ISTA/P system when the bike is connected via the diagnostic port. In that sense there is no real requirement to invest in an RCK3 just to remove the DDC system.

  7. The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to RyS1000RR For This Useful Post:


  8. #17
    Standard Member boomaz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2017
    Posts
    351
    Thanked: 71

    Re: Removing DDC?

    Quote Originally Posted by DeeboSTI View Post
    Will annoy the SH!T out of me.
    why, just put tape over , your gonna be proper pissed if u drop it then

  9. #18
    Standard Member boomaz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2017
    Posts
    351
    Thanked: 71

    Re: Removing DDC?

    Quote Originally Posted by alex View Post
    If the suspension is swapped, then you go to BMW with the bike and the DDC units, if you 'plug them in' is it possible to remove the error?

    Also, just to clarify, you don't have to RCK right?

    - Alex
    the fault comes straight off the dash , done it

  10. #19
    Forum Moderator RyS1000RR's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2015
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    3,312
    Thanked: 1218

    DDC Removal

    As soon as you reconnect the DDC the warning on the dash will disappear but a fault code will still be logged in the ECU. Ultimately you can either just put tape over the dash etc or have BMW disable it prior to physically removing the DDC system from the bike.

  11. The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to RyS1000RR For This Useful Post:


  12. #20
    2 YEAR PREMIER MEMBER DeeboSTI's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2016
    Posts
    70
    Thanked: 16

    Re: Removing DDC?

    The tape over the dash part doesn’t appeal to me so will get it booked into BMW.


    Thanks for the advice lads.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •