Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Rapidbike, rapid bike evo or remap ?

  1. #1
    1 YEAR PREMIER MEMBER RRChris's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2016
    Location
    Southampton
    Riding
    HP4 Carbon 2013
    Posts
    53
    Thanked: 6

    Rapidbike, rapid bike evo or remap ?

    Hi guys and gals,

    Does anybody have experience with using a Rapidbike module on a HP4 or is it better to be custom remapped, how does the rapidbike function ? Does it just tweak the original map by itself or does it try to give optimum performance like remaps or do you have to have the rapidbike modules programmed. Are there any dyno results to show how effective or how well the HP4 responds to the rapidbike module.

    My bike is standard apart from the Akrapovic stubby and airfilter it still has the original HP4 Cat.


    Many thanks guys your help is appreciated

  2. #2
    Forum Moderator alex's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Location
    London and Norfolk
    Riding
    2017 S1000RR Grey
    Posts
    6,245
    Thanked: 1835

    Re: Rapidbike, rapid bike evo or remap ?

    HP4 runs a different map from other RR's I believe. So, I'm not sure what gains can be made, without at least a full decat. I would get it dyno'd to decide if the AFR's can be better optimised.
    The Rapid Evo/Race need a map 'tuned' like any other fuelling computer. The RapidBike differs from the PCV/Bazzaz because it leaves the O2/Lambda Sensors in line and uses the signals from them. But it's not necessary to have this feature. The HP4 is now out of warranty so you could flash the ECU or get the RCK (Race Calibration Kit) installed. That is probably what I would do. I'd speak to Phil Crowey or HM Racing about an BMW HP RCK tune.

    Getting a tune is actually more about the person doing it - find someone you trust and use the parts they recommend and have faith/experience in. It will get you the best results.

    The Euro4 '17's can't use anything but the RapidBike due to needing the O2's plugged in (unless going for the warranty invalidating ECU update (RCK).

  3. The Following User Says Thank You to alex For This Useful Post:


  4. #3
    Forum Moderator RyS1000RR's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2015
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    3,045
    Thanked: 1086

    Race Calibration Kit

    Quote Originally Posted by alex View Post
    ... or get the RCK (Race Calibration Kit) installed...
    For older models, including the HP4, a separate HP Race ECU has to be purchased to allow the use of a RCK. You can't just activate the RCK within the standard OEM ECU like you can on the 2015+ models. It makes the RCK option for older models extremely expensive when compared to just buying a fuel management module from the likes of RapidBike, Dynojet et al.

  5. The Following User Says Thank You to RyS1000RR For This Useful Post:


  6. #4
    Forum Moderator alex's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Location
    London and Norfolk
    Riding
    2017 S1000RR Grey
    Posts
    6,245
    Thanked: 1835

    Re: Rapidbike, rapid bike evo or remap ?

    True but used ones crop up on ebay


    - Sent from Mobile

  7. The Following User Says Thank You to alex For This Useful Post:


  8. #5
    1 YEAR PREMIER MEMBER RRChris's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2016
    Location
    Southampton
    Riding
    HP4 Carbon 2013
    Posts
    53
    Thanked: 6

    Re: Rapidbike, rapid bike evo or remap ?

    Cheers guys thank ypu very much for your help, i will probably go with a re-map from a trusted company then sounds like less of a pain.

  9. #6
    2 YEAR PREMIER MEMBER ekdg's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Chesterfield, Derbyshire
    Riding
    2015 HP4 Carbon
    Posts
    623
    Thanked: 38

    Re: Rapidbike, rapid bike evo or remap ?

    Quote Originally Posted by RRChris View Post
    Cheers guys thank ypu very much for your help, i will probably go with a re-map from a trusted company then sounds like less of a pain.
    I have a Hp4 and had de cated it, i had a ECU remp to ensure it was running the correect AFR, the tuner also made some adjustments, the bike no longer has the flat spot when it switched from one injector to the other as seems common.

  10. The Following User Says Thank You to ekdg For This Useful Post:


  11. #7
    Forum Moderator Oli's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2017
    Location
    Essex, Dunmow, Flitch Green
    Riding
    2015 Motorsports
    Posts
    1,952
    Thanked: 755

    Rapidbike, rapid bike evo or remap ?

    Personally, I’d re-map with a fuel module.
    This is the “safest”/easiest option and will still give a significant improvement to the ride.

    I agree with what Alex says about using a fuel module that your chosen Dyno centre has experience with.
    A DynoJet PCV and Secondary Fuel Module would be a good option on a HP4, the RapidBike Race is also another excellent option and if you contact @alex there is a forum discount available through Performance Parts Ltd.

    Whatever you decide on, enjoy
    Last edited by Oli; 18th October 2017 at 02:58 PM.

  12. The Following User Says Thank You to Oli For This Useful Post:


  13. #8
    1 YEAR PREMIER MEMBER RRChris's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2016
    Location
    Southampton
    Riding
    HP4 Carbon 2013
    Posts
    53
    Thanked: 6

    Re: Rapidbike, rapid bike evo or remap ?

    Thanks guys a lot, i went the decat route but with the akrapovic stubby i just found it unbearably noisy on long runs, so put the cat back in, as far as im aware the hp4 cat doesnt sap much power anyway. But i have lost the cables that operate the valve and i do have a slight flat spot below about 8k rpm so this is what im trying to iron out, im not after big power gains just better delivery, im no Rossi but i do realise when something doesnt quite feel the same. i know i could get another set of cables but would rather sort the fuelling out and have her running at best.


    Cheers guys

  14. #9
    1 YEAR PREMIER MEMBER RRChris's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2016
    Location
    Southampton
    Riding
    HP4 Carbon 2013
    Posts
    53
    Thanked: 6

    Re: Rapidbike, rapid bike evo or remap ?

    Quote Originally Posted by Jay S1000rr View Post
    Further to this ... owners went the pcv or bazzaz route as they then added an auto tune to aid the mapping further as the map can not self adjust to suit different parameters like moisture content in the air, heat, sea level etc and this is when the auto tune would alter the map to suit, however the Rapidbike has this already called the auto adaptivity feature meaning it continuously adapts the map to suit. Works out cheaper.
    I still say ur best option is an Ecu remap unless u go abroad in which case u need an auto tune feature to cope with environment changes

    Excellent thank you very much for the info

    Chris

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •