Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13

Thread: Wiring a Nav 5 cradle into 2016 S1000RR loom

  1. #1
    1 YEAR PREMIER MEMBER Bertie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2017
    Location
    Derby
    Riding
    2017 red RR
    Posts
    120
    Thanked: 64

    Wiring a Nav 5 cradle into 2016 S1000RR loom

    Hi all, probably someone has already posted on here how to do this but I just came across this really nice Youtube of how to wire a Nav5 cradle into the loom of an S1RR. Definitely going to do this. Looks super neat! I can't take credit for the video but thought others might be interested
    https://youtu.be/m-KetTFEdPY

  2. The Following User Says Thank You to Bertie For This Useful Post:


  3. #2
    1 YEAR PREMIER MEMBER moogerdoo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2018
    Location
    France
    Riding
    S1000RR 2017 Grey
    Posts
    67
    Thanked: 37

    Re: Wiring a Nav 5 cradle into 2016 S1000RR loom

    Bertie,
    I saw that video but is it the same wiring on 2017 RR ???

  4. #3
    1 YEAR PREMIER MEMBER Bertie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2017
    Location
    Derby
    Riding
    2017 red RR
    Posts
    120
    Thanked: 64

    Re: Wiring a Nav 5 cradle into 2016 S1000RR loom

    Yep, mine is a 2017 and I got the grain cradle modified by Stephen and it worked a treat!

  5. The Following User Says Thank You to Bertie For This Useful Post:


  6. #4
    1 YEAR PREMIER MEMBER moogerdoo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2018
    Location
    France
    Riding
    S1000RR 2017 Grey
    Posts
    67
    Thanked: 37

    Re: Wiring a Nav 5 cradle into 2016 S1000RR loom

    Thanks Bertie,
    grain cradle ? modified ?
    Sorry don't know what grain cradle is.

  7. #5
    1 YEAR PREMIER MEMBER Bertie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2017
    Location
    Derby
    Riding
    2017 red RR
    Posts
    120
    Thanked: 64

    Re: Wiring a Nav 5 cradle into 2016 S1000RR loom

    Hahaha, thats spell checkers for you!! I meant a Garmin cradle. They fit BMW SatNavs but are smaller and neater tha a Nav 5 cradle so work better on an S1RR. Having it wired to the accessory socket behind teh fairing means that the power is switched by the ignition and its lovely and neat.

    Quote Originally Posted by moogerdoo View Post
    Thanks Bertie,
    grain cradle ? modified ?
    Sorry don't know what grain cradle is.

  8. #6
    1 YEAR PREMIER MEMBER moogerdoo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2018
    Location
    France
    Riding
    S1000RR 2017 Grey
    Posts
    67
    Thanked: 37

    Re: Wiring a Nav 5 cradle into 2016 S1000RR loom

    Thanks Bertie,
    Where did you get your cradle ? has it a part number ? The one on the video is not the one you use ?

    Dave

  9. #7
    Forum Admin soofsayer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Location
    York
    Posts
    5,553
    Thanked: 1860

    Re: Wiring a Nav 5 cradle into 2016 S1000RR loom

    Quote Originally Posted by moogerdoo View Post
    Thanks Bertie,
    Where did you get your cradle ? has it a part number ? The one on the video is not the one you use ?

    Dave
    If you are using a Nav5 it is the same cradle mount as a Zumo 660.

    https://www.amazon.co.uk/Garmin-Zumo...zumo+660+mount

    I have a Nav5 with the built in BMW mount on the GSA, and the zumo 660 mounts on my two other bikes so I can swap the Nav5 between bikes.

  10. The Following User Says Thank You to soofsayer For This Useful Post:


  11. #8
    1 YEAR PREMIER MEMBER moogerdoo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2018
    Location
    France
    Riding
    S1000RR 2017 Grey
    Posts
    67
    Thanked: 37

    Re: Wiring a Nav 5 cradle into 2016 S1000RR loom

    So I would need the repair wire ( With the yellow connector ) for the Zumo cradle ?? I am sure I have seen this on the forum somewhere.
    It is a neater cradle to be sure.

  12. #9
    Forum Admin soofsayer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Location
    York
    Posts
    5,553
    Thanked: 1860

    Re: Wiring a Nav 5 cradle into 2016 S1000RR loom

    Quote Originally Posted by moogerdoo View Post
    So I would need the repair wire ( With the yellow connector ) for the Zumo cradle ?? I am sure I have seen this on the forum somewhere.
    It is a neater cradle to be sure.
    I am not the right person on this bit, my electrical knowledge is pants.

  13. #10
    1 YEAR PREMIER MEMBER Bertie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2017
    Location
    Derby
    Riding
    2017 red RR
    Posts
    120
    Thanked: 64

    Re: Wiring a Nav 5 cradle into 2016 S1000RR loom

    I used to have a Garmin 550 and bought a spare cradle for it as I had two bikes. The 550 cradle fits a BMW Nav 5 but is slim and doesn't have the extra buttons on the side like the BMW mount so I got the old Garmin one converted for my S1RR

    I had a google and I can't find a Zumo 550 cradle anywhere to link to for you but as Soofsayer has confirmed a Zumo 660 cradle will work with a Nav 5 then go with that.

    Quote Originally Posted by moogerdoo View Post
    Thanks Bertie,
    Where did you get your cradle ? has it a part number ? The one on the video is not the one you use ?

    Dave

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •