Page 21 of 21 FirstFirst ... 11192021
Results 201 to 210 of 210

Thread: Ben's 2015 S1000rr

  1. #201
    Forum Moderator alex's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Location
    London and Norfolk
    Riding
    2017 S1000RR Grey
    Posts
    6,246
    Thanked: 1837

    Re: Ben's 2015 S1000rr

    Not sure bikes flashed with the RCK are road legal either. You sign a disclaimer that its not for road use, and it can't be reversed.
    Try insuring that...

    - Alex

  2. The Following User Says Thank You to alex For This Useful Post:

    Oli

  3. #202
    Forum Moderator RyS1000RR's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2015
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    3,046
    Thanked: 1087

    Race Calibration Kit

    Correct; as soon as you install the RCK the bike is no longer homologated for road use.

  4. #203
    Standard Member paz_37's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Posts
    110
    Thanked: 16

    Re: Ben's 2015 S1000rr

    If you are only modding a road bike i would only add bits that can be easily removed. Once you start flashing ECU's and installing RCK there's no going back.

    Ref the HP Kit, i believe you are referring to the dealer supplied Akrapovic system and power chip which doesn't invalidate the warranty. Its c£2000.

  5. #204
    Forum Moderator RyS1000RR's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2015
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    3,046
    Thanked: 1087

    HP Race Power Kit / RCK

    The HP Race Power Kit (Akrapovič Full Titanium Race System) can be fitted by a BMW dealership. However if they load the associated HP Race Mapping and Data Release into the ECU it restricts the warranty. Itís linked to the bikeís VIN and is activated via the diagnostic port under the seat and is irreversible. I had to sign a disclaimer acknowledging this fact when I had mine installed and accept that BMW now class my S1000RR as a race bike. The dealership is required to print the disclaimer and get you to sign it as part of the instructions in the RSD. If your dealer hasnít made you sign the paperwork, or informed you of the process, thatís an error on their part as the update is recorded centrally by BMW as soon as the ECU is flashed and Race Enabled via the port. As for the RCK that will completely invalidate your warranty and again is irreversible. Ultimately both HP ECU updates are not suitable for road bikes.

  6. #205
    1 YEAR PREMIER MEMBER bmwbadboy's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2018
    Location
    London
    Posts
    290
    Thanked: 81

    Re: Ben's 2015 S1000rr

    Surely you can buy a stock ECU and replace it?
    Quote Originally Posted by paz_37 View Post
    If you are only modding a road bike i would only add bits that can be easily removed. Once you start flashing ECU's and installing RCK there's no going back.

    Ref the HP Kit, i believe you are referring to the dealer supplied Akrapovic system and power chip which doesn't invalidate the warranty. Its c£2000.
    Sent from my Pixel 2 XL using Tapatalk

  7. #206
    Forum Moderator RyS1000RR's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2015
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    3,046
    Thanked: 1087

    Changing ECU

    Itís not quite as simple as just fitting a new ECU as BMW have to match it to the bike. The HP ECU updates are linked to the VIN so they will still know what the bike has been used for and whatís been done to it.

  8. The Following User Says Thank You to RyS1000RR For This Useful Post:

    Oli

  9. #207
    2 YEAR PREMIER MEMBER Felix's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2016
    Location
    UK
    Riding
    '15 S1000RR
    Posts
    812
    Thanked: 220

    Re: Ben's 2015 S1000rr

    Thanks for replies guys. I don't think it's worth doing for me so I'm going to leave it.

    On a side note, I've been told bike is ready to be collected! Apparently they had someone come down from germany to look at mine and another persons bike as they could've find the issue.
    Excited to get it again, Hopefully tomorrow

  10. The Following User Says Thank You to Felix For This Useful Post:

    Oli

  11. #208
    1 YEAR PREMIER MEMBER Kennybush's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2016
    Location
    Stornoway, Western isles of Scotland
    Riding
    SP-1, Guzzi T-3
    Posts
    351
    Thanked: 153

    Re: Ben's 2015 S1000rr

    Quote Originally Posted by Felix View Post
    Thanks for replies guys. I don't think it's worth doing for me so I'm going to leave it.

    On a side note, I've been told bike is ready to be collected! Apparently they had someone come down from germany to look at mine and another persons bike as they could've find the issue.
    Excited to get it again, Hopefully tomorrow

    Nice one Felix. Did they say what was causing the flashing clocks?

  12. #209
    2 YEAR PREMIER MEMBER Felix's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2016
    Location
    UK
    Riding
    '15 S1000RR
    Posts
    812
    Thanked: 220

    Re: Ben's 2015 S1000rr

    They had no idea, they eventually programmed the bike to thibk I had a new dash, which sadly reset all my settings, any help on how to get rid of the bloody shift light haha

  13. #210
    Forum Moderator Oli's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2017
    Location
    Essex, Dunmow, Flitch Green
    Riding
    2015 Motorsports
    Posts
    1,958
    Thanked: 759

    Ben's 2015 S1000rr

    Quote Originally Posted by Felix View Post
    They had no idea, they eventually programmed the bike to thibk I had a new dash, which sadly reset all my settings, any help on how to get rid of the bloody shift light haha
    To change settings, you need to press the settings button on the left hand switchgear until you see the option to enter the ďsetup menuĒ. To select/enter the sub menu, press and hold the settings button youíve just been pressing until the action is complete. At the end of every sub-menu is an option to exit, which returns you to the previous level so to speak, like navigating directories on a computer.
    When you are finished, press the trip icon on the left hand switch gear until you see your desired display.
    The trip button when in the settings menu acts like an up button, so in the context of changing the time, the shift light etc, you can just click up and down.

    Take care with User Mode, as the default sub-settings are all in Slick.

    Hope this helps?
    Donít fret when exploring the setting menu, because you can always undo/revert to default
    Last edited by Oli; 23rd May 2018 at 06:12 PM.

  14. The Following User Says Thank You to Oli For This Useful Post:


Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •