Van or Trailer?

S1000RR  FORUM

Help Support S1000RR FORUM:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

soofsayer

Forum Admin
Reaction score
As the title, I have the dilemma many on here have no doubt faced before me, so I have come for some advice on what to do. I'll be transporting 2 or more bikes to the odd track day this year, hopefully doing some racing next year.

Many of the trailer sellers on ebay are selling because they are buying a van instead. So I'm wondering if, although getting a trailer is far cheaper, will I end up with a van anyway? Is it inevitable? Is the trailer a false economy?

If a van, a T5 would be my preference based on what I read and like. Any advice on how one is like to live with instead of a car? Swb or lwb? How low can my budget be to get something half decent? I have zero commercial vehicle experience or knowledge. Thanks in advance.

Had the same issue.

Swapped out my Audi RSTT for an old Renault Traffic.
Use it every day for transport and at weekends for track days when they are available.
Short wheelbase low roof - big enough for 2 bikes (no more), economical and comfy, extremely easy to live with.

No regrets at all. (not lost the TT altogether as the wife uses it)

Been there too.....had trailer and sold it for a Renault traffic van....better for bike security, sleeping and cooking in also if you are doing a trackday that's any sort if distance to get too.

I sold my evo x because I needed a van and love it, don't think il ever go back to a car again is I love the drving possiiton of being up high. on the odd occasion when i have to drive the wifes car I hate it

No regrets at all. (not lost the TT altogether as the wife uses it)